

HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 2 (HREC 2)

Committee Members 2019-2021			
	Chair		
1	Anita van der Merwe, PhD	Department of Nursing & Midwifery, FMHS, Stellenbosch University (SU)	
	Vice Chairs		
2	Marilize Burger, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, SU	
3	Talitha Crowley, PhD	Department of Nursing & Midwifery, FMHS, SU	
	Secretary		
	Francis Masiye, MSc	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, SU	
	Ex-officio members		
4	Nicola Barsdorf, MHS, PhD	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, SU	
	General members		
5	Elize Archer, PhD	Centre for Health Professions Education, FMHS, SU	
6	Alida de Beer, MSc	Division of Speech-Language & Hearing Therapy, Dept. of Health & Rehabilitation Studies, FMHS, SU	
7	Cathy Edwards	Community Member	
8	Firnley Blouws, B.Ed. Hon	Community Member	
9	Adrie Bekker, PhD	Department of Pediatrics and Child Health, FMHS, SU	
10	Francois Bloem, LLB	General Law Practitioner, Bloem Attorneys, Wellington	
11	Rob Lamberts, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, SU	
12	Jennifer Jackson, PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences, FMHS, SU	
13	Eduard Langenegger, PhD	Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, FMHS, SU	
14	Zelra Malan, PhD	Division of Family Medicine & Primary Care, Dept. of Family & Emergency Medicine, FMHS, SU	
15	Hans Prozesky, MMed	Division of General Internal Medicine, Dept. of Medicine, FMHS, SU	
16	Vikash Sewram, PhD	African Cancer Institute, Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, SU	
17	Willem Stassen, PhD	Division of Emergency Medicine, Dept. of Public Health & Family Medicine, Univ. of Cape Town	
18	Kathryn Chu, MD, MPH, FACS	Department of Global Health, FMHS, SU	
19	Sharian Suliman, PhD	Department of Psychiatry , FMHS, SU	
20	•Ruchi Lawrie, <i>MMed</i> •Marianne Johnson, <i>MMed</i>	Department of Anesthesiology & Critical Care , FMHS, SU (Alternate members)	
21	Tonya Esterhuizen, MSc	Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, SU	
22	Peter Nyasulu, PhD	Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, SU	
23	Karen Welman, PhD	Department of Sport Science, FMHS, SU	
24	 Roland van Rensburg, MBChB Veshni Pillay-Fuentes Lorente, MBChB 	Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Dept. of Medicine , FMHS, SU (Alternate members)	