

## HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 2 (HREC 2)

Committee Members 2019 - 2021		
Chair		
1.	Anita van der Merwe, PhD	Department of Nursing & Midwifery, FMHS, Stellenbosch University (SU)
	Vice Chair	
2.	Marilize Burger, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, SU
3.	Talitha Crowley, PhD	Department of Nursing & Midwifery, FMHS, SU
Secretary		
4.	Brightness Nxumalo, MSocSc	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, SU.
	Ex officio members	
5.	Blanche Pretorius, DPhil (Social Work), PhD	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, SU.
6.	Nicola Barsdorf, MHS PhD	Research Integrity Office, Division for Research Development, SU
C	General members	
7.	Alida de Beer, MSc	Division of Speech-Language & Hearing Therapy, <b>Dept. of Health &amp; Rehabilitation Studies,</b> FMHS, SU
8.	<ul><li>Adrie Bekker, PhD</li><li>John Lawrenson</li></ul>	Department of <b>Pediatrics and Child Health</b> , FMHS, SU (Alternate Members)
9.	Francois Bloem, LLB	General Law Practitioner, Bloem Attorneys, Wellington
10	Cathy Edwards	Community Member
11	Firnley Blouws, B.Ed. Hon	Community Member
12	Rob Lamberts, PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, SU
13	Jennifer Jackson, PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences, FMHS, SU
14	Sengeziwe Sibeko, PhD	Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, FMHS, SU
15	Hans Prozesky, MMed	Division of General Internal Medicine, Dept. of Medicine, FMHS, SU
16	Sharain Suliman, PhD	Department of <b>Psychiatry</b> , FMHS, SU
17	Marianne Johnson, MMed	Department of Anesthesiology & Critical Care, FMHS, SU
18	Tonya Esterhuizen, MSc	Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, SU
19	Peter Nyasulu, PhD	Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Dept. of Global Health, FMHS, SU
20	Kathryn Chu, PhD	Department of <b>Global Health</b> , FMHS, SU
21	Karina Berner, PhD	Division of Physiotherapy, Dept. of Health & Rehabilitation Studies, FMHS, SU
22	Ryan Davids, PhD	Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care, FMHS, SU
23	Van Deventer Heidi, MBChB, MSc Clinical Epidemiology	Department of <b>Urology</b> , FMHS, SU
24	Bienyameen Baker, PhD	Department of Molecular Biology and Human Genetics, FMHS, SU
25	Adetayo Emmanuel Obasa, PhD	Dept. of <b>Medicine,</b> FMHS, SU
26	Mandi Alblas, PhD	Division of Anatomy and Histology, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences, FMHS, SU
27	Willem Stassen, PhD	Division of Emergency Medicine
28	Theresa Mann,PhD	Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Dept. of Surgical Sciences, FMHS, SU
29	Ts'epo Motsohi, BA, MBChB, MFamMed	Division of Family Medicine and Primary Care, Dept. of Family and Emergency Medicine