

HEALTH RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE 1 (HREC 1)

Committee Members 2019		
	Chair	
1.	Pedro Fernandez, BSc Hons (Biochemistry), PhD (Med Sci.Genetics)	Division of Urology, Dept of Surgical Sciences , FMHS
Vice Chair		
2.	Cedric Werely, PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics, Dept of Biomedical Sciences , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
3.	Richard Glashoff, PhD	Division of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Dept of Pathology , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
Secretary		
	Melody Shana, BSc	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
	Ex officio members	
	Nicola Barsdorf, MHS PhD	Health Research Ethics Office, Division of Research Development & Support, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
	General members	
4.	 Pieter Barnardt, MBChB, PGDip Oncochemotherapy Waleed Begg, MBChB,FcRadOnc MMed (Radonc) Hannah Simonds, MBChB, MRCP, FRCR 	Division of Radiation Oncology, Department of Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
5.	 Shaun Barnabas, MBChB, ACLS, PLS, DCH, FC Paed Mark Cotton, MBChB, DCH, DTM, MMed,(Paed), FC Paed, PhD 	Children's Infectious Diseases Clinical Research Unit/ Family Clinical Research Unit (FAMCRU/KIDCRU), Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
6.	Yolandi Brink, MSc, BSc, PhD	Division of Physiotherapy, Dept of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
7.	Ursula Botha , MBChB, MMed (Psych) PhD	Department of Psychiatry, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
8.	Lesley Burgess, MBChB, MMed, PhD	TREAD Research, Tygerberg Hospital
9.	Sean Chetty, MBChB, DCH,FCA,PhDDirk Coetzee, MBChB, FCA, MMed	Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
10.	Moleen Dzikiti, Msc, PhD	Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Dept of Global Health, FMHS
11.	Pieter Els, PhD	Community Member
12.	Pierre Goussard, MBChB, MMed (Paed)	Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, Stellenbosch University. FMHS
13.	Mariana Van der Heever, BCur, M.Cur, PhD	Department of Nursing and Midwifery, FHMS
14.	Niel van Hoving, MBChB, MMed, MScMedSci	Division of Emergency Medicine, Dept of Family and Emergency Medicine , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
15.	Anusha Lachman, MBchB, MMed, PhD	Department of Psychiatry, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
16.	Deidré Mason, MBChB, DipObs	Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
17.	Xikombiso Mbhenyane, MS, PhD	Division of Human Nutrition, Dept of Global Health , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
18.	Sue-Ann Meehan, MA research Psychology, PhD	Desmond Tutu TB Centre (DTTC), Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.
19.	Rose Richards, PhD	Research and Writing Lab, Stellenbosch University Language Centre
20.	Rizwana Roomaney, BA, MA, PhD	Department of Psychology , Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Stellenbosch University.
21.	Mark Tomlinson, BA Honours , MA Clinical Psychology , PhD	Dept. of Psychology, SU
22.	Caitlin Uren, BSc, PhD	Division of Molecular Biology & Human Genetics, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences, FMHS
23.	Dave Whitelaw, MBChB,MMed,PhD	Rheumatology, Division of Internal Medicine, Dept of Medicine , FMHS, Stellenbosch University.

HREC1 Membership 2019

May 2019