Molecular Biology Human Genetics
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

​Division of Molecular Biology and Human Genetics​​​​

​​​​​​​​​MSc or PhD in Molecular Biology or Human Gen​​​etics​​​​​​​

The Division of Molecular Biology and Human Genetics, Department Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University offers a Masters (MSc) and Doctoral (PhD) program in either Molecular Biology or Human Genetics. 


The MSc program spans over a 2-year period, and affords applicants the opportunity to develop their research skills as a scientist and master a variety of molecular techniques. The specific admission requirements for a MSc include, an average final mark of more than 60% in one of the following qualifications from a recognized tertiary training institution:

    • a BSc Honours degree with Biochemistry, Genetics, Microbiology, Physiology, Molecular Biology or Biotechnology for acceptance for MSc postgraduate studies
    • an MBChB or BChD degree


The PhD program spans over a 3-year period, and equips applicants with the practical skills and intellectual ability to critically observe, assess, test, evaluate and conclude on scientific phenomenon with rigor as an independent researcher. The specific admission requirements for a PhD include, an average final mark of more than 60% in one of the following qualifications from a recognized​​ tertiary training institution:

    • a MSc degree with Biochemistry, Genetics, Microbiology, Physiology, Molecular Biology or Biotechnology for acceptance for MSc postgraduate studies
    • an MBChB or BChD degree​

How to​ Apply

If you would like to enquire about MSc or PhD postgraduate study opportunities available within the Division of Molecular Biology and Human Genetics, please contact one of the Principle Investigators (PIs) listed below. Upon application you will need to submit a CV, a cover letter outlining your research interests and a completed application form which can be downloaded here.​

For more information regarding the research interest of the respective PIs, and to ensure that these interests align with that of your own, please visit the research group'​s webpage via the "Research groups" tab in the menu bar above.


​​Michele-Miller.jpg

Su Animal TB Research Group
PI: Prof Michele Miller
Email: miller@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 73 812 9141​
​​Hemmings.jpg

Su Neuropsychiatric Genetics Research Group
PI: Prof Sian Hemmings
Email: smjh@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9695
Porf-Gerard-Tromp_web.jpg
South African Tuberculosis Bioinformatics Initiative
PI: Prof Gerard Tromp
Email: gctromp@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9251
Grant-Theron02A.png
Clinical Mycobacteriology and Epidemiology (CLIME)
PI: Prof Grant Theron
Email: gtheron@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9693
sam.jpg
Su Host-Pathogen Mycobactomics Research Group
PI: Prof Samantha Sampson
Email: ssampson@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9951​​
Gerhard.jpg
Su Immunology Research Group
PI: Prof Gerhard Walzl
Email: gwalzl@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9401
Andre.jpg
PI: Dr Andre Loxton
Email: gl2@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9953​
Research Focus: B-lymphocytes in TB
Nelita.png
PI: Dr Nelita Du Plessis
Email: nelita@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9953​
Reserach Focus: MDSC in TB
Novel.png
​PI: Prof Novel Chegou
Email: novel@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9953​
Research Focus: TB Diagnostics
leanie_.jpg
PI: Dr Leanie Kleynhans​
Email: leaniek@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9953​​
Research Focus: Diabetes and TB
Stefanus_Malherbe.jpg
Su Molecular Biology Clinical Research Unit
PI: Dr Stefanus Malherbe
Email: malherbe@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9399​​
Research Focus: TB Clinical Trials
soraya_bardien.jpg
Su Parkinson's Disease Research Group
PI: Prof Soraya Bardien
Email: sbardien@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9681
Bienyameen.jpg
TB Drugs: Targets and Development
PI: Dr Bienyameen Baker
Email: brubaker@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9402
Vuyo_Mavumengwana.jpg
PI: Dr Vuyo Mavumengwana
Email: vuyom@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 995​​​2
Research Focus: B​​iopharmaceuticals
Gabriel_Mashabela.jpg
PI: Dr Gabriel Mashabela
Email: gabrielmsun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9158​
Research Focus: Metabolomics
Colin_Kenyon.jpg
​PI: Prof Colin Kenyon
Email: kenyon@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9950
Research Focus: Drug Discovery​
Rob_Warren.jpg
TB Genomics
PI: Prof Rob Warren
Email: rw1@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9073
DSC_9998 e.jpg
PI: Dr Elizma Streicher
Email: lizma@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9957
Research Focus: TB Drug Resistance
Marisa.jpg
PI: Dr Marisa Klopper
Email: marisat@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 99537​
Research Focus: Mycolic acids and TB Drug Resistance
Marlo.jpg
Su TB Host Genetics Research Group
PI: Prof Marlo Moller
Email: marlom@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9694
Research Focus: ​Population Genetics
Craig_Kinnear.jpg
PI: Prof Craig Kinnear
Email: gkin@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9695​
Research Focus: Primary Immuno Deficiencies and TB
Heidre.jpg
Su Clinical Genetics Research Group
PI: Dr Heidrè Bezuidenhout
Email: heidreb@sun.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 938 9788