SPL (School of Public Leadership)
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Keynote Speakers

​​​Prof Mark Swilling 

Mark Swilling is Distinguished Professor of Sustainable Development in the School of Public Leadership, University of Stellenbosch; Academic Director of the Sustainability Institute (www.sustainabilityinstitute.net) and Co-Director of the Stellenbosch Centre for Complex Systems in Transition (www.tsama.org.za). He co-authored with Eve Annecke Just Transitions: Explorations of Sustainability in an Unfair World (Tokyo: United Nations University Press, 2012) and is a member of UNEP's International Resource acting as Coordinator of the Cities Working Group (http://www.unep.org/resourcepanel/). For more see http://markswilling.co.za/

Ms Liepollo Lebohang Pheko 

Liepollo Lebohang Pheko is an activist scholar, researcher, public intellectual, columnist and development practitioner. Her interests are in Afrikan political economy, States& nationhood, international trade & global financial governance, feminisation of poverty, regional integration and impacts of globalisation on labour migration. She is a Senior Research Fellow at research and policy advocacy think tank - Trade Collective and has taught International Trade and developed a course on Afrikan Feminism the Thabo Mbeki African Leadership Institute where she is a founding faculty member and Associate. Contributed to five books on international trade, gender and politics and social transformation and written over a hundred conference and academic papers in addition to popular opinion pieces and columns on regional integration, international relations, migration, public & development policy, economic citizenship, forms of nation and statehoods, racism and emerging global powers.

Dr Thokozani Simelane​

Thokozani Simelane, a Chief Research Specialist at the Human Sciences Research Council, specialising on Science and Technology. He holds a PhD from Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University.  He is a member of Human Sciences Research Council's Research Ethics Committee.  He is a member of South Africa's Standing Advisory Committee on Intellectual Property Rights where he serves as a member of Patents sub-committee. He is a Member of South Africa's Chapter of International Systems Dynamics Society, where he serves as a member of the Council. His research interests are in system analysis; biodiversity and environmental management; science and technology; intellectual property development and management and renewable energy.

Prof Derk Loorbach 

Derk Loorbach is director of DRIFT and Professor of Socio-economic Transitions at the Faculty of Social Science, both at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Derk is one of the founders of the transition management approach as new form of governance for sustainable development. He has over one hundred publications in this area and has been involved as an action researcher in numerous transition processes with government, business, civil society and science. He is a frequently invited keynote speaker in and outside Europe.

Herewith follow the link to Prof Loorbach's paper titled To Transition! 

Prof Martijn van der Steen​

Martijn van der Steen (1977) is associate-dean and vice-director of the School and head of the think-tank of the Netherlands School of Public Administration (NSOB). Moreover, he is Professor of "Strategy and Foresight" at Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR), Faculty of Social Sciences, Department of Public Administration & Sociology. His research focuses on network governance, strategic foresight in policy development, and governance-innovation.