Arts & Social Science
Welcome to Stellenbosch University

Academic Offering Committee


The Academic Offering Committee (AOC) checks and approves the academic offering of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. It is our Faculty's equivalent of what some other faculties call a programme committee.

The mandate of the AOC, however, has a wider scope than just programmes and modules – this committee also performs numerous other types of checks, including (but not limited to) the constitutions of centres and other environments, inter-faculty cooperation on academic content, and practical issues like timetabling, assessment, and the like.

The committee is there to advise Faculty colleagues and assist them on their submissions, and to route these submissions to the right places for final approval after confirming that everything meets the respective standards and requirements. The purpose of this work is to ensure the academic integrity of what we do.

The most visible product that follows from the work of the AOC is the annual Calendar text (informally called the “yearbook” or "jaarboek").

Important documents

(Guidelines and procedure for submissions)

Template for Calendar changes 

Calendar text (English)

Calendar text (Afrikaans)

Assessment Policy 

Useful links​

Centre for Academic Planning and Quality Assurance​

Timetables Office

Division for Information Governance​

Commitee members

Mr Marius Swart (

Dr Hermann Swart

Eleonore Basson (

​Elected members
Mr Jan de Waal (Social Sciences)
Dr Isabel dos Santos ​(Languages)
Dr Pieter Grobler (Arts)

Co-opted and ex officio members
P​rof Anthony Leysens (Dean)
Prof Vasti Roodt (Vice-dean: Teaching and Learning)
Prof Lindy Heinecken (Vice-dean: Research)
Mr Pieter Janse van Rensburg (Faculty manag
Ms Lauren Onraët (Timetables)
[Vacant] (BASC representative)
Ms Cheryl Richardson (Registrar's office)