SU Teaching Fellowships

A proposal for the creation of teaching fellowships at Stellenbosch University was accepted at a Senate meeting in 2009. The University has successfully awarded ten fellowships to date. This programme is an excellent opportunity to consolidate and extend expertise with regard to teaching and learning at the faculty or departmental level.

Aims

- To enhance the stature of teaching and learning at Stellenbosch University
- To provide an opportunity for selected academics to develop their teaching expertise
- To stimulate the growth of the scholarship of teaching and learning at the University
- To provide the opportunity for a systematic, rigorous and reflective approach towards teaching and teaching innovation at the University.

A University fellowship scheme is intended to convey prestige and provide support for selected academics to focus for a stipulated period of time on the practice and scholarship of teaching. The scheme will make provision for a minimum of one award per annum. The fellowship scheme provides the opportunity for excellent teachers and scholars of teaching and learning to spend more consistent periods of time, with various forms of support, to focus on aspects of renewal, exploration and dissemination of good practice within Departments and Faculties.

The individual will remain in his or her Department, but will focus on aspects of teaching and learning that will enhance his or her teaching and contribute to the development of the scholarship of teaching and learning in the department and faculty. The project is managed by the CTL.

Any questions can be directed to: Karin Cattell (kcattell@sun.ac.za) at the Centre for Teaching and Learning.

Teaching Fellows at SU*

We are very proud of the following Teaching Fellows at Stellenbosch University:

*Please contact us if the information below is incomplete.

2018

Name: Dr Michael Schmeisser Department: Horticultural Science

Faculty: AgriSciences

2018

Name: Dr Marianne Unger Department: Physiotherapy

Faculty: Medicine and Health Sciences

2017

Name: Prof. Ingrid Rewitzky

Department: Mathematical Sciences

Faculty: Science

2017

Name: Dr Elize Archer

Department: Centre for Health Professions Ed

Faculty: Medicine and Health Sciences

2016

Name: Marianne McKay

Department: Viticulture and Oenology

Faculty: AgriSciences

2016

Name: Dr Helena Wessels

Department: Curriculum Studies

Faculty: Education

2015

Name: Dr Berna Gerber

Department: Division of Speech-Language and Hearing

Therapy

Faculty: Medicine and Health Sciences

2015

Name: Prof. Ian Nell

Department: Practical Theology

Faculty: Theology

2015

Name: Dr Nicola Plastow

Department: Division of Occupational Therapy

Faculty: Medicine and Health Sciences

2013

Name: Prof. Geo Quinot Department: Public Law

Faculty: Law

2011

Name: Prof. Juanita Bezuidenhout

Department: Centre for Health Professions Education

Faculty: Medicine and Health Sciences

2011

Name: Prof. Elmarie Costandius

Department: Visual Arts

Faculty: Arts and Social Sciences

2011

Name: Prof. Dana Niehaus Department: Psychiatry

Faculty: Medicine and Health Sciences