National TAU (Teaching Advancement at Universities) Fellowships

The TAU (Teaching Advancement at Universities) Fellowships Programme was initiated in 2015 as a collaborative project between several South African universities under the aegis of HELTASA (Higher Education Learning and Teaching Association of Southern Africa) and with the support of the CHE (Council for Higher Education). It is funded by the DHET (Department of Higher Education and Training).

Aims

- To contribute towards the enhancement of teaching and learning in higher education in South Africa by supporting the development of a cadre of academics across institutions and disciplines as scholars, leaders and mentors in their fields
- To enhance the status and stature of teaching and further popularise the concept of teaching excellence
- To contribute towards the definition of what teaching excellence means in varied institutional settings.

The Fellowships are awarded in two-year cycles. Up to three nominees per institution may be put forward. Nominees must have at least a doctorate and be in a senior lecturer position. A national committee selects the candidates.

Any questions can be directed to: Karin Cattell (kcattell@sun.ac.za) at the Centre for Teaching and Learning.

National TAU Fellows from SU*

We are very proud of the following national TAU Fellows from Stellenbosch University:

^{*}Please contact us if the information below is incomplete.

SU TAU National Fellows

2016-2017:

- Prof. Elmarie Costandius
 Department of Visual Arts
 Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
- 2. Prof. Ian Couper
 Ukwanda Centre for Rural Health
 Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
- 3. Prof. Geo Quinot
 Department of Public Law
 Faculty of Law

2018-2019:

- Dr Berna Gerber
 Division of Speech-Language and Hearing Therapy
 Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
- 2. Prof. Ian Nell
 Department of Practical Theology
 Faculty of Theology
- 3. Dr Helena Wessels

 Department of Curriculum Studies
 Faculty of Education