Stellenbosch University
Welcome to Stellenbosch University
Election of Council Members: Convocation and Donors
Author: Registrateur-kantoor / Registrar Office
Published: 21/12/2017

​The terms of five members (three Convocation members and two donors) of the Stellenbosch University (SU) Council will expire on 1 April 2018 and another position has become available due to the resent resignation of Prof GJ Crafford who was elected as Council member of the University by the Convocation for the period 4 November 2016 to 1 April 2020. 

The Registrar of SU, Dr Ronel Retief, is now awaiting nominations for people to fill these positions.  Nominations are awaited until midnight on Wednesday, 24 January 2018  and if the number of nominations exceed the number of existing vacancies, an election will be held during February / March.

Ballot papers will be sent out to voters per mail or per e-mail and it is therefore essential that persons potentially eligible to vote ensure that their contact details held by the Alumni Office are correct.

Donors who qualify as members of the electoral college of donors and members of the Convocation of SU will be able to participate in the election by voting on the SU website before the closing date, or by completing a ballot paper and handing it in at the Registrar's office, faxing it to a number that will be provided or emailing it. It is crucial that voters cast their votes only on the web or per ballot paper.

Non-SA citizens who are Convocation members or donors may obtain access to the web/election process by using their student numbers, while SA citizens may use their ID or student numbers.

  • ​Persons eligible to vote can check their contact and other details held by the Alumni Office by sending an  e-mail to