*Die Volkskerk van Afrika* was formed as an independent Reformed denomination on 14 May 1922 under the leadership of its first and founding minister Rev J.J.H. Forbes, a former ordained minister of the Methodist church. Two separate groups or churches, one in District Six and one in *Die Vlakte* in Stellenbosch, led to the establishment of *Die Volkskerk van Afrika*.

*Die Volkskerk van Afrika* held her dedication ceremony in Cape Town City Hall, drawing people from Wesleyan and Congregational Churches. In Stellenbosch, people came from the Anglican, Wesleyan and Rhenish Churches. Both congregations in District Six and *Die Vlakte* were located in the heart of these coloured communities.

The political development of segregation along skin colour contributed to the formation and establishment of *Die Volkskerk van Afrika*. The Church wanted to provide spiritual care as well as moral support to her people.

Today, *Die Volkskerk van Afrika* forms part of many ecumenical bodies. The moderator is Dr Donald Katts who, along with 17 ministers, two emeritus ministers and two proponents, serve the 25 congregations of *Die Volkskerk van Afrika*.